Vail Resorts Parking Fees at All 42 Mountains: Resort Charges vs Town Fees
Parking fees: what the official sources say
Opinion: Skiing already costs plenty. At some mountains, parking adds another charge or a reservation requirement. Other mountains explicitly provide free parking. The 42 entries below distinguish those different situations.
Updated October 2026. Fees and restrictions vary by season, date and lot. Where the only published policy is for 2025–26, that is stated rather than passed off as a 2026–27 rule.
Two kinds of evidence
OFFICIAL: Resort, municipal, government or destination information. A source link appears beneath every mountain.
SKIER-REPORTED: A dated public discussion about fees, crowding or parking access. Those personal accounts appear separately, with links, where located; they are not verified current fees.
Sometimes an official page only tells visitors where the parking lot is, without showing a cost. In that case, the article says exactly what the page provides rather than guessing.
What deserves criticism
Park City advertises $29 morning parking reservations and $50 garage spaces for 2026–27. Stevens Pass offers $20 paid reservations on designated peak days. Stowe has published a $30 peak-day charge. These policies can add costs and extra planning to a ski day.
But the details matter. Heavenly says reservations are no longer needed for 2026–27. Whistler Blackcomb operates free lots even though the municipality charges in some village lots. Many smaller resorts plainly state parking is free.
Resort fees, town fees and government fees are not interchangeable
The Town of Vail operates its own paid garages, Whistler's village lots are municipal, and Australian vehicle-entry permits are governmental. Paid parking near a Vail Resorts mountain is not automatically money collected by the company. Where a parking operator or fee recipient is unclear, this article does not invent one.
Parking at all 42 mountains
Below are all 42 listed mountain properties. Each has its own heading, followed by the parking situation and any confirmed price or important detail.
Read the labels: 'Official' means a published resort or public-authority source. 'Skier-reported' means an individual's dated public account. An official guide that does not publish a price is not evidence of free or paid parking.
Colorado
1. Vail
Official: Town-owned Vail Village and Lionshead garages charge municipal parking fees. Those are not Vail Resorts parking revenue.
2. Beaver Creek
Official: Elk and Bear parking costs $13 before 1 p.m. during the posted winter season; parking after 1 p.m. is free.
3. Breckenridge
Official: The resort confirms resort-owned paid lots managed by Breck Park. Free outlying lots with bus connections are available; town parking is separate.
4. Keystone
Official: River Run and Mountain House East D/E provide free day parking. Mountain House West A and other premium or overnight options are paid.
5. Crested Butte
Official: Mountaineer Square's heated garage advertises $30 day parking. Free parking is confirmed for the Main Lot in summer 2026; winter Main Lot fees need checking.
Utah
6. Park City
Official: Winter 2026–27: Mountain Village advertises $29 reserved morning surface parking and $50 garage reservations. Canyons garage advertises $29 per day, with free alternatives and free after noon.
Skier-reported (2026): Public discussion questioned the new Canyons garage charge and possible season-pass costs.
Lake Tahoe, California and Nevada
7. Heavenly
Official: For winter 2026–27, resort says parking reservations are no longer needed. Cal Lodge, Boulder and Stagecoach are free; city-owned Village garage is paid. The earlier $20 peak-day reservation rule was from 2025–26.
8. Northstar
Official: Castle Peak is free with a shuttle. The published 2025–26 schedule lists preferred paid parking at $25 weekday or $50 weekend, plus paid Village View peak reservations.
9. Kirkwood
Official: Published 2025–26: Some peak-morning reserved lots cost $20 for cars with three or fewer people; designated free reserved lots and free weekdays were available. Later-season fees need checking.
Washington
10. Stevens Pass
Official: Winter 2026–27: the resort offers $20 peak-day paid parking reservations, alongside limited free reserved/carpooled options and free non-peak parking.
Skier-reported (2026): Some skiers criticized reservations and congested arrivals. These are visitor experiences, not an additional published fee.
Vermont
11. Stowe
Official: Published parking program: $30 for designated Friday–Sunday and holiday Mansfield/Midway parking; Toll House and Cross Country lots remain free. Check the coming season's dates.
Skier-reported (2025): A skier criticized paying $30 when wind disrupted mountain operations.
12. Okemo
Official: General Clock Tower parking and Jackson Gore lots are explicitly listed as free. Busy-day lots fill early.
Skier-reported (2026): A skier criticized long walks or shuttle trips from Clock Tower parking on busy days.
13. Mount Snow
Official: Free general parking in Lot D, Tiered Lots and Lot E; paid preferred parking is also offered. Rate varies with lot and date.
New Hampshire
14. Mount Sunapee
Official: The resort explicitly states parking is free, with access-road and state-beach overflow options.
Skier-reported (2025): Skiers described arriving early to avoid a long walk or shuttle on busy days.
15. Attitash
Official: Attitash and Bear Peak general/overflow parking is free; a seasonal Premier lot is paid.
16. Wildcat
Official: Free parking is advertised for the main base and overflow lots.
17. Crotched Mountain
Official: The resort explicitly states all guest parking near the lodge is free.
New York
18. Hunter Mountain
Official: The resort confirms free same-day parking in its main and North parking areas.
Skier-reported (2024): A skier reported a long line of cars heading into Hunter around midday.
Pennsylvania and nearby Mid-Atlantic resorts
19. Liberty
Official: The resort confirms free parking next to the Main Lodge and slopes.
20. Roundtop
Official: The official guide identifies ski-lodge, overflow and tubing parking. No day-parking price is stated on the page reviewed.
Skier-reported (2024): A skier described traffic delays on snowy access roads; this does not prove a parking charge.
21. Whitetail
Official: The resort confirms free parking directly next to the main lodge and slopes.
22. Jack Frost
Official: Free, first-come first-served parking is expressly published for Jack Frost.
23. Big Boulder
Official: Free, first-come first-served parking is expressly published for Big Boulder.
24. Seven Springs
Official: North, Northeast and East day lots are free. Blitzen preferred parking is $30 on Friday–Sunday and peak days.
25. Laurel Mountain
Official: The resort expressly lists free parking above Laurel Mountain Lodge.
26. Hidden Valley (PA)
Official: The resort explicitly lists three free parking areas.
Midwest
27. Afton Alps
Official: Highlands, Alpine, Alps, LZ and Meadows parking areas are identified, but no day-parking price is listed in the official guide reviewed.
28. Mt. Brighton
Official: The resort identifies one main lot with two road entrances; the reviewed official guide does not state a fee.
29. Wilmot
Official: The official page directs skiers to the lodge lot and tubers to a separate lot. No daily parking price is listed on this page.
30. Alpine Valley (OH)
Official: The resort identifies its main and overflow lots but does not specify a price on the reviewed official page.
31. Boston Mills
Official: The resort identifies guest parking beside the lodge. The official guide does not quote a fee.
32. Brandywine
Official: The resort describes ski-lodge guest parking and separate tubing parking. The official guide does not quote a fee.
33. Mad River Mountain
Official: The guide directs skiers to an open parking area outside the lodge and rentals building. No parking charge is listed on that page.
34. Hidden Valley (MO)
Official: The resort explicitly states all parking is free, for skiing and tubing.
35. Snow Creek
Official: The resort identifies main-lodge and overflow parking but does not publish a rate in the reviewed guide.
36. Paoli Peaks
Official: The resort lists separate ski-lodge and tubing-lodge lots, but no fee is stated in the official guide reviewed.
Canada
37. Whistler Blackcomb
Official: Resort-operated Blackcomb Lots 6–8 and Creekside are free; some 2025–26 peak periods required free reservations. Village Day Lots 1–5 are municipal paid parking.
Australia
38. Perisher
Official: Free parking is offered at Bullocks Flat when using the separately paid Skitube, which includes national park entry. Driving into the park involves different government rules.
39. Falls Creek
Official: Vehicle-entry permits are administered under Alpine Resorts Victoria government regulations, not automatically a Vail Resorts parking charge.
40. Hotham
Official: Government vehicle-entry permits through Alpine Resorts Victoria apply subject to exceptions; this is not proof of a Vail Resorts parking charge.
Switzerland
41. Andermatt-Sedrun
Official: The official destination guide lists paid parking facilities near the mountain railways and use of ParkingPay; price and collector depend on the particular lot.
42. Crans-Montana
Official: At Cry d'Er, the local tourism directory lists winter high-season parking at CHF 4/hour (maximum CHF 32/day), first half-hour free. Published local parking fees are not proof Vail Resorts receives them.
Sources and review notes
Every resort entry links directly to the official information reviewed. Where a dated public skier account was found, it appears on its own line with its original public source.
Editorial note: Reviewed October 2026. Rates, parking ownership, reservations and peak-day restrictions can change. Visitor reports describe individual experiences, not independently established fees. Readers should check the linked policy before visiting.
Comments